Save me…

20 10 2009

I may have blogged about this in the past, but it’s in my head so I’ll do it again.

I have too much stuff.  I realize this every time I think of something I want, but I can’t seem to find it because I just have too much dang stuff.  Why do I have all this stuff?  I guess at some point I thought I would need it again.  No, the real reason is that I’m just plain lazy.  I take and I take and I take.

“Oh, you’re getting rid of ____________?   Sure I’ll take it.”

This seems to be my pattern.

The Rich Mullins song, “Save Me” has been popping in and out of my head lately.  Now I must admit, I didn’t know the original Rich version.  The first time I heard it was on the tribute album done to Rich after his accident.  Kevin Max, formerly of dc Talk did it, and it’s the version I am most familiar with.  Here’s some of the lyrics.  They are my prayer tonight.

Save me, save me
Save me from my contempt for the things that make me strong
Save me from any value I could put a price tag on
Save me from Soviet propagandists
Lord, save me from Washington
Please save me, Lord save me

Save me, save me
Save me from the slick pop sounds
Laid down in virgin vinyl grooves
Save me from any woman who would be turned
On to the aftershave I use
Save me from trendy religion that makes
Cheap cliches out of timeless truths
Lord save me, please save me
Save me

Lord save me from my need to acquire more stuff.

More Rich lyrics from his album, Winds of Heaven, Stuff of Earth:

“If I Stand”

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper
Than mere sentiments
And a music higher than the songs
That I can sing
The stuff of Earth competes
For the allegiance
I owe only to the Giver
Of all good things

The stuff of earth does compete for the allegiance I owe only to the Giver of all good things.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

